How much can I expect to get each week if I am injured on the job in Virginia ?
That is a question frequently asked of on the job accident lawyer Doug Landau of the Herndon law firm ABRAMS LANDAU. Each year the Virginia Legislature establishes a minimum and a maximum compensation rate for injured workers under the Workers Compensation Act. Weekly wage loss benefits for disabled employees is supposed to be 2/3rds of their average weekly gross wages (before taxes and deductions). However, for those employees in the Commonwealth who earn a lot of money, their comp rate may be only 50% or less of their pre-injury wages. The minimum and maximum comp rates for for 2010, 2009 and 2005 have been as follows:
YEAR Min. Comp Rate Max. Comp Rate
2010 $221.25 $885.00
2009 $223.75 $895.00
2005 $184.00 $736.00
An experienced workers compensation lawyer in Virginia, Maryland and the District of Columbia will help you calculate your correct comp rate, get the benefits allowed by law and protect your rights under the Act. The establishment of the "average weekly wage" and the weekly compensation rate are important foundational elements of the case that are difficult to correct or change later in the case. While the maximum weekly comp rate may keep a high earner from getting 66 & 2/3 of their salary, a workers comp attorney who regularly goes to court to try workplace injury cases will know how to help lessen the impact of the wage loss limits when they are released to light duty or part time work.